Gary Moore News

DEEP PURPLE Keyboardist DON AIREY Releases new solo album

11 Jan 2014 21:52


Releases new solo album 

"'Keyed Up" - (Feb. 17th, 2014)

"Keyed Up", the new studio album from renowned keyboard maestro Don Airey has been released through Music Theories Recordings, a division of Mascot Label Group (17 February 2014). This is Don's fourth studio set, and his third to be released through the label. The album features many of Don's friends and peers and, sadly, represents one of the very last times that Gary Moore recorded a guitar part. He - a long time associate of Don - features on "Adagio" and also on "Mini Suite", which is dedicated to his memory. Don has played with pretty much everyone worth playing with, and is currently working and touring with DEEP PURPLE. This new solo CD draws from a range of influences from his past. And while he has a solid band, there are a few notable guests appearing on the album, including one of the last pieces of work by the late Gary Moore. 

The band on this record was Don Airey on keyboards, Darrin Mooney (PRIMAL SCREAM) on drums, Laurence Cottle on bass, Rob Harris (JAMIROQUAI) on guitar and Carl Sentance on vocals. Guest performers include the aforementioned Gary Moore, Graham Bonnet, Simon MacBride, Alex Meadows and Tim Goodyer. " The suite is dedicated to Gary's memory and obviously in "Lament", the lyrics are about Gary and it's something we used to play with Coliseum II. That whole thing is about Gary really. My little tribute to a very great musician".

"Keyed Up" track listing:

01. 3 In The Morning

02. Beat The Retreat

03. Blue Rondo A La Turk|

04. Solomon;s Song

05. Claire D'Loon

06. Flight Of Inspiration

07. Inside The Godbox

08. Difficult To Cure 2013

9. Mini Suite*

a) Lament/Jig 

b) Restless Spirit 

c) What Went Wrong 

10. Adagio *

11. Grace 

* featuring Gary Moore 

Musicians: Don Airey - keyboards Darrin Mooney - drums Laurence Cottle - bass Rob Harris - guitar Carl Sentance - vocals

Enter Text